FAQ-iPhone iPhone Android Windows Phone Symbian S40 BlackBerry

How do I use Video Call?

  • Can I use WeChat Video Call?

    Video Calls are supported on WeChat versions 4.2 and up. At your earliest convenience, please update to the latest version of WeChat.

  • How private is my video call?

  • How do I switch between Video and Audio mode?

    You can select Video or Audio mode while starting a video call,

    Before accepting the call,

    Or during the call.

    If you switch to Audio mode, the other user will be switched to Audio mode automatically.

    The other user will be notified when you switch from Audio to Video mode.

  • Are WeChat Video Calls free?

    It’s free to use Video Call on WeChat. However, you may need to pay your carrier for internet service. The data consumption rate for Video Calls is 14-21k/sec. It’s recommended you use Video Call over a WiFi network to prevent consuming large amounts of data.

Collapse

How do I use “Moments” ?

  • When can I use WeChat’s “Moments” feature?

    “Moments” is a new feature in WeChat 4.0. Please update Wechat to the latest version.

  • How do I share and view photos in “Moments”?…More

    In the Social menu, click on “Moments”. You can then view a streaming feed of your and your friends’ photos.

    Interact with your friends by giving and receiving comments, and “Liking” their photos.

    You can share individual photos or batches of photos in “Moments”, and send them to your friends. These photos will then be displayed in your friends’ photo albums.

    Go to your friend’s profile page to view his or her photo album.

  • How do I manage my photos?

    Go to the Settings menu and select My Moments. You can then manage your photos and view your friends’ comments and “Likes”.

How private is my photo album?

  • Can all of my contacts see all comments made on my photo?

    Your friends will only see comments from those users who are also their friends.

  • Can I restrict the visibility of my photos?…More

    Yes. You can set the visibility to Private; only you will be able to see the photo. If you send the photo to other friends and then select Private, then it will only be visible to you.

  • Is my album visible to users not in my Contacts list?

    A portion of your album may be visible to users not in your Contacts list. If you initiate a user-finding feature, your 10 most recent photos will be visible to a user using the same feature.

How do I forward WeChat messages?

In WeChat 4.0, you can forward messages to your friends.

  • How do I forward messages?

    Tap and hold the message you want to forward and click Forward. You can select an existing conversation or start a new conversation.…More

  • Which types of messages can be forwarded?

    You can forward texts and photos, even messages from third-party applications.

  • Can I forward a voice message?

    Sorry, you can not forward voice messages now.

What is WeChat?

WeChat is a new and powerful mobile communication tool. It supports sending voice, video, photo and text messages. You can also do group chats, or you can find new friends nearby to talk to. WeChat works on iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Symbian and BlackBerry devices.

What can WeChat do?

With WeChat, you can chat with your friends instantly via voice messages, texts, or images. You can also create group chats to chat with several friends together.

Is WeChat free?

It’s free to download, install and use WeChat. However, you may need to pay your carrier for internet service.

Is there any region restriction for voice messages?

No. You can chat with friends anywhere.

How do I register?

You can log in to WeChat with your Facebook account or sign up with your phone number.

How do I retrieve my password?

Click “Can’t access your account?” in login page and follow the instructions.

Will WeChat contacts see my phone number?

No, your phone number will not be shown on WeChat.

What’s the difference between WeChat ID and WeChat name?

WeChat ID is your unique name that friends can search for to find you. Wechat ID can be changed once only. WeChat name is your primary name shown to other WeChat users, and it can be changed as often as you like.

How do I find my friends?

You can search for them via their WeChat IDs or their phone numbers directly, or you can link your phone address book to let WeChat find your friends for you with Recommended.

How do I delete message history?

You can delete a single message or the entire conversation. For touch-screen mobile, just tap and hold the message or swip to the left on the chat. For keyboard mobile, please select Options -> Delete.

How do I know whether my message has been read by the recipient?

Sorry, there is no way to know this. We think this is the private information of the other user and we do not disclose it. You can, however, see when they are typing a reply.
Advertisements